Bait and Tackle
Johnny's is an authorized New Jersey Fishing and Hunting License Agent
Get your license here!
Lake-side delivery available
Staffed by people who fish!
Kids are our specialty.
All styles &
price ranges available
FAQ's - Fishing on Lake Hopatcong
What Do I Need To Go Fishing In New Jersey?
Anyone age 16 and older must have a valid license (see Exceptions) to fish the fresh waters of New Jersey with hand line, rod and line, or longbow and arrow. This includes privately owned lakes and other waters. Fishing licenses must be worn in a conspicuous place on the outer clothing while engaged in fishing, and must be exhibited to law enforcement personnel on request.
Resident License (see below for chart)
It is unlawful for any person to obtain a resident license unless they have actually lived in New Jersey for six months immediately prior to the time of application.
Non-resident License (see below for chart)
Any person who has lived in New Jersey less than six months prior to the time of application.
Licenses for servicemen and women
A person who is on active duty in the armed services of the United States is entitled to fish with a resident license.
No person between the ages of 16 and 69 shall take, attempt to take, or kill trout without a valid fishing license with a trout stamp attached.
Anglers Under 16 - No fishing license is required of persons under 16 years old.
Veterans with a Service-connected Disability - Resident NJ veterans with a service-connected disability are eligible for free licenses which can be obtained at selected division offices and through the mail from the State..
Fishing on a Farm - Farmers and family members that live on a farm do not need a license to fish on their farm, but must obey the fishing regulations.
Licenses for the Blind
Residents afflicted with total blindness may obtain a free fishing license from the Division of Fish and Wildlife.
|Annual Fishing||Required to fish in fresh water for anyone who has been a resident of New Jersey for at least six months. No license is required for children under 16 years of age.||
|Senior Fishing||Issued to residents between 65 and 69 years old for fresh water fishing. Residents 70 years or older may fish without a license with proof of age.||
|Trout Stamp||Required, in addition to the regular fishing license, of every resident between 16 and 69 years of age who shall take or attempt to take trout from any fresh waters of the State.||
|NON RESIDENT LICENSES||Description|
|Nonresident Fishing - Annual||Required by all persons who have not been New Jersey residents for the past six months or more and who are 16 years old or older who will fish in NJ freshwater.|
|Nonresident Fishing 2 Day||Required for nonresidents 16 years old or older who wish to fish in NJ freshwaters for a period of 2 days only.|